So Now I Am a Blogger

I’m not sure who will be more surprised that I now have a blog; me or anyone else that knows me.   I never thought I would write a blog but here I am writing one.   So, why am I doing something that I thought I would never do?  Well, I guess I think it might be therapeutic; at least that what my daughter tells me.  I have a lot of thoughts that go through my head, most of them quite random, that I think would make more sense to me if I put them to pen and paper, so to speak.  That explains the Jetsam part of the title.  I just have a bunch of stuff rattling around inside my noggin that needs to get out. 

So what about the Closet Hillbilly part of the title?  First of all, I want to be sure to say that I am using the term Hillbilly in the most affectionate way possible.  It is not in the least, meant to be derogatory or demeaning to anyone.   I use that term to describe people who live simply and enjoy a far less encumbered life style.   And, frankly seem to be more comfortable in their own skin than a lot of people who seem to be more interested in trying to grab the brass ring.   The word genuine pops into my head when I think of this kind of people.   I found this definition sometime ago and I like it: “a Hill-Billie is a free and untrammeled citizen, who lives in the hills, has no means to speak of, dresses as he can, talks as he pleases, drinks whiskey when he gets it, and fires off his revolver as the fancy takes him.”  It speaks of a lifestyle that I think is, and always has been deep down inside me.  And it wants out! 

I spent the last 30 plus years pursuing a fast paced life that while producing lots of special memories, 3 wonderful children (with equally wonderful spouses or soon to be spouses),  and a better wife than I probably deserve;  has also whizzed by so fast that I sometimes have a difficult time remembering why I embraced it the way I did.  It certainly isn’t the lifestyle in which I was raised as a child nor one that I even remotely enjoy today.  It is nevertheless the way I’ve lived for the last 3 decades but it doesn’t mean I have to keep doing what I’ve always done.   The cliche “if you keep doing what you’ve always done, you’ll keeping getting what you’ve always gotten” seems all too appropriate.

A lot has changed in my life in the last 5 or 6 years and as a result  I find myself slowly emerging from that old lifestyle and embracing my real inner self, that Hillbilly by my definition.  My hope is that I can learn to embrace that real me by jotting down my thoughts about some of those simpler things in life, and from time to time help me deal with the old life that I am forced to live with by virtue of my occupation.   The actor Wilford Brimley plays Tom Selleck’s disheveled sidekick in the movie Crossfire Trail (one of my favorite movies I think because of how it emphasizes integrity and virtue).  His character’s frequently repeats the line ” Slow down, you’ll get a more harmonious outcome”.  I believe we could all benefit from making that our mantra too….at least I think I would.

I suspect that my blogs will be about all kinds of “stuff.”  Occasional observations about the things I do, the people I meet, family, friends and my faith.   Some times it will be light hearted and I suppose othertimes more thoughtful; and I suspect it will often times pose more questions that it answers.  I can’t imagine that anyone will find any of what I have to say to be particularly interesting,  or terribly profound,  but it’s not really about entertaining others as much as it is about discovering myself.

5 Responses to “So Now I Am a Blogger”

  1. widereyes Says:

    Why am I not surprised that Wilford Brimley and Crossfire Trail already made it into you blog? 🙂
    Love you, Dad. I’m glad you started a blog.

  2. widereyes Says:

    Oh, and I really like the picture of Goat Hollow. Hopefully it didn’t take you as many tries to post it as it did me!

  3. Debbi Says:

    Aaron

    Great blog! And great observations.

    I never take the term “hillbilly” as an insult. It speaks to me of people who live simply, love God, love family and love our great country. They have figured out that money and things do not make a person happy or satisfied.

    Thanks so much for sharing your inner self (which I like very much) with the world.

    ENCORE!!!

  4. Blue Raider Says:

    Jetsam of a closet hillbilly… clever.

    Many more of us will get the whole 30 year later thing, and the need to take stock in our past as well as recognizing that we should be proud of where we came from. Good Luck with the blog.

    A great book on Hillbillies is titled: Born Fighting by Senator Jim Webb of Virginia. If you are from a family of Hillbillies, then you will be “prouder than a peacock” after you read the book.

    Where exactly is Goat Hollow?

  5. goathollow Says:

    Goat Hollow is a little chunk of ground in the hills of southern Indiana where my wife and I like to spend weekends and let our inner hillbilly shine through.

Leave a Reply

